Sotheby’s

The luxury real estate way of life

All around the world and for centuries, only Sotheby’s can pride itself on carrying so much meaning when talking about aesthetics. However, it is only since 1976 that this unique notion of elegance has been transposed to luxury real estate. Thanks to Sotheby’s, today, domestic architecture has become intertwined with the great concepts of art.

Sotheby's art moderneSotheby’s over time

Only a few institutions have been dedicated to beauty and culture for as long as Sotheby’s. The famous auction house that owes its name to one of its founders, John Sotheby, was launched in 1744 and specialized in precious books auctions. In 1778, the company took a turn and widened its interests to artwork and antiquities.

It took almost two centuries for Sotheby’s to cross the Atlantic and establish its first American house in New York city. In the 1950’s, the renowned auction house participated in the resurgence of Impressionism and contributed to the rise of Modernism. Way more than a simple pawn in the great scheme that is the art market, the auction house managed to become inherently implicated in the history of art itself.

In 1967, while Montreal is buzzing with the Universal Exhibition, Sotheby’s is busy opening offices all around the world. Paris, Los Angeles, Toronto, the great western cities now have their own division. Today, Sotheby’s has a location on every continent and has become the greatest auction house of the world; a solid reputation based on irrefutable taste and undeniable expertise of what’s really extraordinary.

Sotheby’s luxury real estate

This long tradition of pioneering also reached a new peak in 1976 when the auction house launched its luxury real estate branch, an innovation that transposed art’s aesthetics and uniqueness to aspiring homeowners lifestyle. Sotheby’s luxury real estate sealed the relation between art and life once and for all.

If, until then, high-end real estate was a heterogeneous market reserved for wealthy individuals, Sotheby’s International Realty divided it two categories: high-end and luxury real estate, the later being very particular.

It is indeed within its refined selection of represented properties that the prestigious brand manifests its standards; they only associate with the very best… the extraordinary. Some patrimonial, some contemporary, Sotheby’s properties are destined to appreciative owners, people who have a keen eye for beauty, people searching a way of life more than a consumption good.

Of course, these extraordinary properties are the very best in quality, but they are also charged with meaning and have their own voice. They tell the story of their owners; a story of elegance and taste.

Sotheby's immobilier de luxe QuébecSotheby’s customized services

Sotheby’s Canadian real estate division receives 2,7 million unique visitors a year. It is « the only real estate company in Canada to deliver over 1.1 billion annual online impressions in an era where over 87% of homebuyers are using the Internet in their real estate search ». With such a visibility and the level of expertise displayed by its realtors, Sotheby’s Realty offers unique and highly specialized services.

Proud to advance under the Sotheby’s banner, Genest & Marinacci, Real Estate Brokers, have found a name that represents  their vision. Indeed, Sotheby’s values mirror the professionalism and avant-gardism they’ve been displaying in Montreal’s luxury real estate market, specifically in Outremont and the town of Mount-Royal. It is with conviction that Genest & Marinacci, Real Estate Brokers, offer more than a simple service; they pride themselves of accompanying you into you new life, the one you’ve always dreamed of…

Sources: Sotheby’s International Realty Canada, Sotheby’s International Realty, Wikipedia

Photo source: Sotheby’s International Realty Canada official Facebook pages, Sotheby’s International Realty Québec et Sotheby’s

© 2017 Genest & Marinacci. | All rights reserved | Your web agency | Top of page

Sotheby’s

L’immobilier de luxe comme mode de vie

Dans le monde entier et depuis plusieurs siècles, un seul nom est porteur d’autant de sens que Sotheby’s lorsqu’il est question d’esthétique. Toutefois, ce n’est que depuis 1976 que le gage d’élégance porté par la maison de vente aux enchères se transpose dans le marché de l’immobilier de luxe pour finalement unir l’architecture domestique à la notion d’art.

Sotheby's art moderneSotheby’s à travers le temps

Peu d’institutions peuvent se venter de mettre leur savoir-faire au service de la beauté et de la culture depuis aussi longtemps que Sotheby’s. L’entreprise qui doit son nom à l’un de ses fondateurs, John Sotheby, est née en 1744 et se consacrait, à l’époque, à la vente aux enchères de livres précieux. Dès 1778, la maison Sotheby’s entreprend un virage et ouvre son répertoire aux oeuvres d’art et aux antiquités.

Ce n’est toutefois qu’en 1950 que l’entreprise connaîtra une réelle croissance et traversera finalement l’Atlantique pour s’établir à New York. C’est durant cette période que les activités de la compagnie participent à la résugence de l’art impressioniste et à la montée en popularité de l’art moderne. Bien plus qu’un simple agent du marché de l’art, Sotheby’s marque alors l’imaginaire autant des artistes que des amateurs d’art et s’inscrit réellement dans l’histoire de l’art.

En 1967, pendant que Montréal vibre au diapason de l’exposition universelle, Sotheby’s gagne du terrain en ouvrant des bureaux aux quatre coins du globe. Paris, Los Angeles, Toronto, les grandes métropoles occidentales acceuillent dorénavant leur propre division de l’entreprise.

Aujourd’hui, Sotheby’s possède un pied à terre sur tous les continents et est reconnue comme la plus grande maison de vente aux enchères de la planète, réputation qui parle également du flair légendaire et du goût unique qu’entretient l’entreprise pour les plus belles choses du monde.

Sotheby’s et l’immobilier de luxe

Dans l’esprit de distinction qui lui est particulière, c’est en 1976 que Sotheby’s s’attaque au marché de l’immobilier de luxe, mariant ainsi les beaux-arts et la vie, et transposant les notions d’esthétique et d’exclusivité qui lui sont propres à des objets qui participent concrètement au mode de vie des acheteurs.

Si, jusqu’alors, l’immobilier haut de gamme formait un marché hétéroclite réservé simplement aux bien nantis, l’arrivée de la branche Sotheby’s International Realty semble diviser cette part de marché en deux catégories: le haut de gamme et l’immobilier de luxe… et la distinction est fondamentale.

C’est effectivement par le choix des propriétés à vendre que Sotheby’s se distingue, ne présentant aux acheteurs potentiels que le meilleur; des propriétés uniques dont l’architecture cadre avec la notion de beaux-arts. Tantôt patrimoniales, tantôt contemporaines, ces constructions sont destinées à des propriétaires qui se soucient avant tout de se procurer une parcelle de beauté, une oeuvre d’art habitable. Ainsi, Sotheby’s peut se targuer de mettre à la disposition de sa clientèle un mode de vie plutôt qu’un bien de consommation.

Évidemment, les propriétés vendues par Sotheby’s sont d’une qualité irréprochable, mais elles sont également chargées de sens et parlent d’elles-mêmes, faisant ainsi miroiter la personalité et l’élégance de leur propriétaire.

Sotheby's immobilier de luxe QuébecUn service unique à l’image de Sotheby’s

À elle seule, la division canadienne de Sotheby’s reçoit les visites de plus de 2,7 millions de visiteurs uniques annuellement. Il s’agit de la « seule agence immobilière au Canada qui obtient plus d’un milliard de pages vues par année ». À l’heure actuelle, c’est 87% des acheteurs qui privilégient Internet au moment d’effectuer leurs recherches en matière d’immobilier, une proportion non négligeable lorsqu’il est question de visibilité.

En conjugant une telle visibilité à l’expertise unique de ses courtiers, Sotheby’s Realty offre des services aussi uniques que spécialisés qui n’ont encore jamais été égalés.

Fières d’avancer sous la bannière Sotheby’s, Genest & Marinacci, Courtiers Immobiliers, ont trouvé un nom qui représente enfin leur vision de la discipline et leur expertise unique. En effet, les valeurs de la maison Sotheby’s reflètent à la perfection le professionalisme et l’avant-gardisme dont elles font preuve dans le milieu de l’immobilier de luxe à Montréal, plus précisément dans les arrondissements d’Outremont et de ville Mont-Royal. C’est donc avec conviction que Genest & Marinacci, Courtiers Immobiliers, vous offrent bien plus qu’un simple service; elles proposent de vous épauler au moment de choisir votre nouvelle vie, celle dont vous avez toujours rêvé…

Sources: Sotheby’s International Realty Canada, Sotheby’s International Realty, Wikipédia

Crédit photo: pages Facebook officielles de Sotheby’s International Realty Canada, Sotheby’s International Realty Québec et Sotheby’s

© 2017 Genest & Marinacci. | Tous droits réservés | Votre agence web | Haut de page